Tags

Go to the nearest window. Look out for a full minute. Write about what you saw.

The first thing I saw when I looked out the window was my neighbor’s truck parked across the street. That reminded me that I saw him at the grocery store this morning when I went on an emergency 1/2 and 1/2 run. I was just leaving and I didn’t say hi, but he didn’t see me, so it was okay.

Should I have said hi, got his attention? I was properly dressed (I admit that I sometimes go to the store in my pajama pants, fervently hoping that I don’t see anyone I know), but then again, we never do much more than wave at each other anyway. Sometimes I chastise myself for not being more friendly; I know it’s something to work on.

Next I noticed an abandoned water bottle lying in the street. Someone will surely be missing it, since it is a green reusable one with a silver top. It looked a bit forlorn.

I also noticed weeds in my garden, the for sale sign on another neighbor’s house that’s been there since before Halloween (When will it sell? Who will move in?) and my cat wanting to come inside. He saw me standing there seeing him, and didn’t understand why I wasn’t going to open the door. That broke the spell, and the minute was up.