Tags

Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth

You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

I would have a mini-farm of about 5 acres, big enough to do just about anything I wanted, but not too overwhelming. I would invite some like-minded friends to live there with me, and the house would be designed for that, with three wings: one for me and my family, one for our friends, and one for guests. There would be a large central kitchen and living room area, and the whole roof would be made of solar panels, oriented toward the sun.

Since I have the financial resources, I would hire a permaculture designer to plan the entire property to be self-sufficient and sustainable, with all kinds of fruit and nut trees, berries, vegetables, grapes, chickens, goats, a pond with ducks and fish, etc. There would be outdoor rooms for dining and relaxing, as well as a large covered area to do work outside in any weather. Add in all the farm-type outbuildings, a little writing studio, and an art/hobby space, and we’d be all set.